Council Information

About Us

The Pee Dee Area Council is chartered by the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America to deliver the Scouting programs to the families in the eleven northeast counties of South Carolina. “The Pee Dee Area Council was organized in 1928 and incorporated in South Carolina in 1943.  It is registered with the Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c) (3) non-profit organization.”

The Council operates out of the Henry Johnson Service Center in Florence, SC. It owns and operates Camp Coker located in Chesterfield County. It employs a staff of full time employees and various seasonal employees during the summer camping season. The full time staff includes a Scout Executive/CEO, District Executives, Office Manager/Accounting Specialist, Registrar, and Camp Ranger.

The Pee Dee Area Council is lead by a volunteer Executive Board that includes a Council President, Council Commissioner, Executive Vice President, Vice President of Program, Vice President of Fund Development, Vice President of Membership, Vice President of Properties, and Council Treasurer.

Scout Shop

The Pee Dee Area Council has a store at the service center in Florence called the “Scout Shop” or “Trading Post”. The Scout Shop is your local source for all of your Scouting and outdoor related needs. From uniforms, badges, pinewood derby car kits to handbooks. The Scout Shop is also a great place to start your holiday or birthday present shopping. Why not surprise you Cub Scout with a new uniform or backpack for his birthday. We carry a big supply of Scouting T-shirts and handicrafts project kits too. Whatever your needs, check with the Scout Shop first. The Scout Shop can be contacted by calling the council service center at 843-662-6306 or toll free 866-272-7322. The Scout Shop’s hours of operation are 8:30 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday.

Pee Dee Area Council Staff Members

Scout Executive, Barry McDonald (843) 662-6306 Ext. 303 |
Field Director, Marie Jones (843) 662-6306 Ext. 304 |
Atakwa District Executive, Vacant
Chicora District Executive, Chris Britton (843) 605-1241 I
Great Northern District Executive, Vacant
Henry Shelor District Executive Joshua Hanes (706) 768-2385 |
Office Manager/Accounting Specialist Mary Lou Hord (843) 662-6306 Ext. 302 |
Registrar Diane Wheeler (843) 662-6306 Ext. 305 |
Camp Ranger, Nick Newton (843) 858-2818 |
Scoutreach Director, Marquita Gaither, (843) 855-5858 |

Pee Dee Area Council Executive Board Members

Council President: David Lee
Council Immediate Past President: Walt Barefoot
Council Commissioner: Dave Yeager
Council Treasurer: Doug Floyd
Council Secretary: Barry McDonald

Vice Presidents
Membership: Terri Pignone
Finance: Dr. Tom McDonald
District Operations: Charlie Firmbach
Multi-cultural: Cecilia Meggs
Properties: Eddie Drayton
Endowment: Dr. Webb Jones

Board Members at Large
Harrison Flowers O/A Lodge Chief
Walt Barefoot
Ashley Brady
Glenn Button
Mark Buyck, III
Dr. Carl Chelen
John Curl
Edward Drayton
Greg Duckworth
Earl Dutton
Dr. Cindy Elsberry
Patrick Elvis
Charles Firmbach
Doug Floyd
Robin Fowler
Wayne Grantham
Larry Green
David Hart
Matt Haynie
Ismael Hernandez
Dr. Webb Jones
Dr. Krista Kozacki
David Lee
Sherri Lochner
Dr. Kenneth Lowry
Kevin Mahoney
Todd Marshall
Barry McDonald
Dr. Thomas McDonald
James McIlrath
Leslie McIver
Cecilia Meggs
Franz Mustart
Tim Norwood
Terri Pignone
James Prescott
Dr. Eric Robinson
Dr. Brian Sang
Chris Shroff
Dr. Carl Sloan
Barry Spivey
Porter Stewart
Christopher Taylor
William Tyson
Bryan Williamson
Glynn Willis
Barry Wingard
Lisa Worley
Dave Yeager
Dr. Robert Youngblood